So I finally got round to listening to Roots Manuva’s 9th and most recent studio effort; Bleeds. I Bought it on vinyl, one of the first records in my newly started physical collection, and from the first listen I was hooked. I had it on repeat for literally a week.

IMG_5395

It doesn’t heavily feature a lot of his trademark beats, the dub plates and electronic production are toned back a little, I felt. But nonetheless his lyrics and delivery are as sharp as ever, and overall it’s still a highly musical piece. He starts off heavy and direct, the tracks ‘Hard Bastards’ and ‘Crying’ are the two opening beats and the most aggressive on the record. Hard hitting rhymes about social injustice and inequality feature heavily and show us that Roots hasn’t lost any of that fire or passion for his music.

Working through the record things take a step back and slow up a little, but the musicality and delivery don’t tail at all; start to finish there’s not a track I would or have skipped. Worthy of the critical praise it received, it peaked at Number 51 in the UK charts, a fantastic effort for a release on the independent ‘Big Dada’ label and from a man who refuses to sell out to the crowds.

All in all, it’s a great Record and continued form from one of the UK’s greatest rappers.

Peace, Zack x